Instagram: @fifaworldcup

For the first time, the biggest event in football history, the FIFA World Cup, is to be hosted by an Arab nation this year. The kick-off will start with an exciting match between Senegal and The Netherlands on 21st November at the Lusail Stadium in Qatar. The reason the tournament is being held a little later is due to Qatar’s intense temperatures during the usual summer months during the cup is normally held.

What are the qualifying teams?

Host: Qatar.

UEFA: Germany, Denmark, Belgium, France, Croatia, Spain, Serbia, Switzerland, England, Netherlands, Portugal, Poland, Wales.

CONMEBOL: Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Ecuador.

CONCACAF: Canada, Mexico, United States, Costa Rica.

Africa: Tunisia, Cameroon, Morocco, Senegal, Ghana.

Asia: Iran, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, Japan, Australia.

Qatar was the first nation to qualify for the 2022 World Cup automatically as hosts when they won the bid to stage the tournament. It is their first appearance in the competition having never previously qualified for the World Cup finals.

how to purchase tickets to the qatar world cup

If you’re interested in attending, tickets for the Qatar World Cup can only be purchased directly through the official FIFA website. You’ll have to be fast as the tickets are being released in three phases with two already passed. However, FIFA will open a phase for ‘last minute’ ticket purchases after all three phases have ended. MORE INFORMATION 

where to stay during the qatar world cup

The city of Doha is known for its futuristic skyscrapers and sandy beaches and the tournament is expected to draw in around a million tourists to the city. There are a wonderful variety of hotels to stay at during the world cup to suit every budget. MORE INFORMATION 

HAYYA CARD requirements

A Hayya card is required as a permit for both national and international attendees to enter the stadium. MORE INFORMATION