Meghan Markle Oprah interview
Credit: CBS

SUNDAY MARCH 7 8PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 12 NOON AEDT: Oprah Winfrey has touted her tell-all interview with Meghan Markle and Prince Harry as “the best interview she’s ever done”. Right now, millions across the world are glued to their televisions and streaming devices as the Duke and Duchess of Sussex detail their lives inside the palace walls.

Heading into today’s interview, 39-year-old Meghan is facing a slew of accusations that she bullied a number of staff members during her time inside the palace, claims the royal family have pledged to investigate. Harry is also facing criticism for letting the interview go to air when his beloved grandfather Prince Philip is recovering from heart surgery in a London hospital.

As those in the UK go to sleep with conviction they will wake up to a PR catastrophe between the palace and Meghan and Harry, those in the U.S. and in Australia are sipping their tea. Just a couple of hours ago, CBS released extended footage showing Meghan – ever so careful with her choice of words – telling Oprah the “constructs” surrounding her inside the palace meant she had to always have someone next to her when she was speaking.

“As an adult who lived a really independent life to then go into this construct that is different to what people imagine it to be, it’s really liberating to have the right and the privilege in some ways to be able to say ‘yes, I’m ready to talk’ – to make a choice on your own and be able to speak for yourself,” Meghan tells Oprah.

We will have live updates as they happen so let’s get started.

LIVE COVERAGE:

SUNDAY MARCH 7 10.02PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 2.02PM AEDT: A beautiful little moment between the two just happened, and with this, we’ll leave our coverage here. A modern fairytale, indeed.

Oprah: Do you think [Meghan] saved you?

Harry: “Without question. There was a bigger purpose and there were other forces at play…”

Meghan: “I’d have to disagree. He saved all of us. He ultimately called it. He made a decision that saved my life and saved all of us. But you need to want to be saved.”

If this story is in any way triggering, please call LifeLine Australia on 13 11 14. If you are in the U.S., the American Foundation For Suicidal Prevention is here to help. Call 800 273 8255. Or text “Talk” to 741 741. 

Duchess of Sussex and Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex wave as they leave Windsor Castle after their wedding to attend an evening reception at Frogmore House, hosted by the Prince of Wales on May 19, 2018 in Windsor, England. The bride is wearing an emerald-cut aquamarine ring which belonged to Diana, Princess of Wales. (Photo by Steve Parsons – WPA Pool/Getty Images)

Bombshell #18: Prince Harry Would Come Home To Find Meghan Markle Crying While Breastfeeding Archie

SUNDAY MARCH 7 10.02PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 2.02PM AEDT: Prince Harry says life is a lot better now for him and his family. He loves that he can take Archie for a bike ride, a simple liberty not afforded to a life in the spotlight. “I’m really proud of my wife,” he told Oprah, remembering how he used to come home and find Meghan “crying while breastfeeding Archie.”

Bombshell #17: Prince Harry Talks About His Fraught Relationship With His Family Now

SUNDAY MARCH 7 9.56PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 1.56PM AEDT: Meghan and Harry say they stepped back from royal life with “so much respect” and Harry says he talks more to his grandmother now than ever. He alludes to the relationship with his father being strained. I feel really let down, because he’s been through something similar. Archie’s his grandson. I will always love him, but there’s a lot of hurt that’s happened. I will continue to make it one of my priorities to heal that relationship.”

As for his relationship with big brother William, Harry says, “Much will continue to be said about that. I love William to bits… but we were on different paths.”

“The relationship is ‘space’ at the moment,” he continues a little later on. “Time heals all things.”

Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex, Meghan, Duchess of Sussex, Prince William, Duke of Cambridge, Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge and Prince Charles, Prince of Wales attend the Commonwealth Day Service 2020 on March 9, 2020 in London, England. (Photo by Phil Harris – WPA Pool/Getty Images)

Bombshell #16: Prince Harry Says His Brother William And Father Charles Are “Trapped”

SUNDAY MARCH 7 9.46PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 1.46PM AEDT: Prince Harry told Oprah he felt trapped while living in Buckingham Palace.

Oprah: “How is a prince, born and raised in a castle trapped?”

Harry says he was “trapped within the system, like the rest of my family are. My father and my brother: They are trapped. They don’t get to leave.”

He says his royal family cut him off financially in early 2020 “but I’ve got what my mum left me. I think she saw this coming.”

Bombshell #15: Prince Harry Received Death Threat, The Palace Removed Security

SUNDAY MARCH 7 9.45PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 1.45PM AEDT: Meghan has recalled reading death threats that Harry received. She wrote letters “begging” the firm to reinstate her husband’s security detail, even if she and Archie didn’t have it.

Meghan Markle Stayed Up Late To Learn The British National Anthem

SUNDAY MARCH 7 9.43PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 1.43PM AEDT:  In a bid not to embarrass herself in public, Harry says Meghan (despite being given limited training) would stay up late to learn the British National Anthem.

We Need A Breather

SUNDAY MARCH 7 9.39PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 1.39PM AEDT: Just jumping in here to note this is how we are holding up. How are you going?

Bombshell #14: Harry Says His Family Are Scared Of The British Press

SUNDAY MARCH 7 9.34PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 1.34PM AEDT: Harry says his family were very supportive of Meghan in the beginning but that it all changed after their tour of Australia. He suggests that his wife’s popularity became a jealous point within his family. He talked to Oprah about how his family never really supported her in the press.

Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex and Meghan, Duchess of Sussex attend a reception at Government House on October 18, 2018 in Melbourne, Australia. The Duke and Duchess of Sussex are on their official 16-day Autumn tour visiting cities in Australia, Fiji, Tonga and New Zealand. (Photo by Chris Jackson/Getty Images)

Bombshell #13: Harry’s Father Prince Charles Stopped Taking His Son’s Calls

SUNDAY MARCH 7 9.23PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 1.23PM AEDT: Prince Harry told Oprah that the couple “stepped down” from royal life (and “never left”), due to “lack of support and lack of understanding.” He says he never “blindsided” the Queen with this decision and it was something he talked to her about for two years.

“I have too much respect for [my grandmother],” says Harry.

Prince Harry also said he had “conversations with my father –before he stopped taking my calls.

Bombshell #12: The Palace Removed All Security For The Couple And Archie

SUNDAY MARCH 7 9.16PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 1.16PM AEDT: Prince Harry has detailed how, after the couple decided to step down from their roles as senior royal members, they were informed rather swiftly that  their security would be removed.

“They said it was because of the change of status – I asked if there was a change of threat,” Harry said.

“What I was seeing was history repeating itself, but far more dangerous. You add race in. You add social media in. When I’m talking about history repeating itself, I’m talking about my mother,” he continued. 

OK, we already 12 “bombshell revelations” in and it’s only halfway. Oprah asked Meghan how she feels about the palace hearing all of these claims today.

“If it comes with risk of losing things… there’s a lot that’s been lost already. I lost a father, I lost a baby, there’s a loss of identity… but I’m still standing,” she replies.

Meghan Markle Oprah interview
Credit: CBS

Bombshell #11: Prince Harry And Meghan Markle Are Having A Girl!

SUNDAY MARCH 7 9.14PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 1.14PM AEDT:  Meghan Markle and Prince Harry have confirmed they are expecting a little girl, a sister to Archie.

Harry – who is now part of the interview, says it’s “amazing – to have a boy and then a girl, what more could you ask for.”

Bombshell #10: Prince Harry Would Cradle Meghan Markle As She Thought About Ending Her Own Life

SUNDAY MARCH 7 9.02PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 1.02PM AEDT: “I was ashamed to admit it at the time, and admit it to Harry because of how much loss he’s suffered, but I knew that I didn’t want to be alive anymore,” says Meghan. “That was a very real, clear, constant thought. He just cradled me. I went to the institution and said I needed help, and I was told it wouldn’t be good for the institution.”

Meghan says she repeatedly asked to go to a hospital to help her mental health but was denied. It was one of Princess Diana’s friends who helped her.

Meghan also recalled an event that she and Harry went to at Royal Albert Hall. Harry felt she wasn’t well enough to go but Meghan said she was afraid of what she might do if she were alone. Harry clutched her hand and she put on a brave face and smiled for the cameras.

If this story is in any way triggering, please call LifeLine Australia on 13 11 14. If you are in the U.S., the American Foundation For Suicidal Prevention is here to help. Call 800 273 8255. Or text “Talk” to 741 741. 

Meghan, Duchess of Sussex attends the Cirque du Soleil Premiere Of “TOTEM” at Royal Albert Hall on January 16, 2019 in London, England. (Photo by Karwai Tang/WireImage)

Bombshell #9: Meghan Markle Says She Contemplated Suicide

SUNDAY MARCH 7 8.58PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 12.58PM AEDT:

Meghan: “I thought it would have solved everything for everyone right?”

Oprah: “So were you thinking of harming yourself? Were you having suicidal thoughts?”

Meghan: “Yes, this was very clear. Very clear and very scary. I didn’t know who to turn to in that.”

If this story is in any way triggering, please call LifeLine Australia on 13 11 14. If you are in the U.S., the American Foundation For Suicidal Prevention is here to help. Call 800 273 8255. Or text “Talk” to 741 741. 

Bombshell #8: Meghan Markle Says The Palace Were Concerned About How Dark Archie’s Skin Would Be

SUNDAY MARCH 7 8.47PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 12.47PM AEDT: We are speechless.

According to Meghan, the palace had “concerns and conversations about how dark [Archie’s] skin might be when he’s born.”

“What? Who is having that conversation with you? What?” Oprah remarks, visibly shocked.

“I think that would be very damaging to them,” replies Meghan. “That was relayed to me, that was Harry’s conversations with family.”

Watch the moment here.

Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex, Meghan, Duchess of Sussex and their baby son Archie Mountbatten-Windsor meet Archbishop Desmond Tutu and his daughter Thandeka Tutu-Gxashe at the Desmond & Leah Tutu Legacy Foundation during their royal tour of South Africa on September 25, 2019 in Cape Town, South Africa. (Photo by Pool/Samir Hussein/WireImage)

Bombshell #7: Meghan Markle Explains The Royals Decision Not To Make Archie A Prince

SUNDAY MARCH 7 8.43PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 12.43PM AEDT: OK, here we are at the snippet that was leaked earlier. And it’s just as explosive as you can imagine. When Oprah asks Meghan about the palace’s decision not to make Archie a prince despite tradition, Meghan says she was given “no explanation”.

“It was a decision they felt was appropriate,” she says. While Meghan says the “grandeur surroundings” are not something she cares too much about or is attached to, the hardest part for her grapple with was the fact that palace wasn’t going to afford Archie personal security.

“The idea of our son not being safe – and the first member of colour in this family not being titled in the same way as other grandchildren…”

“It’s not their right to take it away. When I was pregnant they said they want to change that convention, for Archie.”

Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex and Meghan, Duchess of Sussex are joined by her mother, Doria Ragland, as they show their new son, born on Monday and named as Archie Harrison Mountbatten-Windsor, to the Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh at Windsor Castle on May 8, 2019 in Windsor, England. (Photo by Chris Allerton/SussexRoyal via Getty Images)

Bombshell #6: Meghan Markle Says The Royal Family Would Lie To Protect Other Members Of The Family

SUNDAY MARCH 7 8.39PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 12.39PM AEDT: Meghan told Oprah she and Harry were not protected by comparison to other members of the family. (Does she mean Prince Andrew?)

“Everyone in my world was given very clear directives from the moment the world knew Harry and I were dating to always say ‘no comment.’ We did, because it was also through the lens of ‘We’ll protect you,’ Meghan says.

“It was only once we were married and everything started to worsen, that I realised not only were we not being protected, they were willing to lie to protect other members of the family.”

Britain’s Queen Elizabeth II looks on during the wedding ceremony of Britain’s Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex and US actress Meghan Markle in St George’s Chapel, Windsor Castle, in Windsor, on May 19, 2018. Credit: JONATHAN BRADY/AFP via Getty Images.

Bombshell #5: “There Was Very Little That I Was Able To Do” – Meghan Markle

SUNDAY MARCH 7 8.35PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 12.35PM AEDT: Right after her wedding, Meghan says she was criticised for “being everywhere right now”. “I have left the house twice in four months – I am everywhere but I am nowhere right now… There was very little I was allowed to do.”

Telling Oprah how she couldn’t go for lunch with friends, Meghan says her problem with the royal family is aimed at the institution or “the firm” as she keep referencing, not necessarily the family members. She says the Queen was “always been wonderful to me” and that during time spent with her, she was reminded of her own grandmother.

Bombshell #4: Kate Middleton Made Meghan Markle Cry Before Her Wedding

SUNDAY MARCH 7 8.27PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 12.27PM AEDT: Meghan says that a couple of days prior to the wedding, the Duchess of Cambridge and would-be sister-in-law Kate Middleton was upset about something related to the dresses and “it made me cry.” Kate then sent Meghan flowers.

“She sent me flowers, she apologised,” Meghan told Oprah.

While Oprah prodded to find out what the argument with the dresses was about, Meghan retorted:

“I don’t think it’s fair to go into the details because she apologised and I’ve forgiven her,” she says, citing that what was actually upsetting was that the “reverse” story came out in the media: Meghan made Kate cry.

“I would hope [Kate] would’ve wanted that corrected…. she’s a good person,” says Meghan. “If you love me you don’t have to hate her, and if you hate me you don’t have to love her.”

Credit: Getty Images

Bombshell #3: Harry and Meghan Secretly Wed Three Days Before The Royal Wedding We Watched On Television

SUNDAY MARCH 7 8.19PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 12.19PM AEDT: “Three days before our wedding, we got married. No-one knows that – the spectacle was for the world,” Meghan told Oprah. Do you kind of look at these pictures differently now?

WINDSOR, UNITED KINGDOM – MAY 19: Meghan Markle arrives for her wedding to Prince Harry at St George’s Chapel, Windsor Castle on May 19, 2018 in Windsor, England. (Photo by Andrew Matthews – WPA Pool/Getty Images)
WINDSOR, ENGLAND – MAY 19: Meghan Markle with her mother Doria Ragland (unseen) drive down the Long Walk as they arrive at Windsor Castle ahead of her wedding to Prince Harry on May 19, 2018 in Windsor, England. (Photo by Richard Heathcote/Getty Images)
WINDSOR, UNITED KINGDOM – MAY 19: Prince Harry lifts the veil of Meghan Markle during their wedding ceremony in St George’s Chapel at Windsor Castle on May 19, 2018 in Windsor, England. (Photo by Owen Humphreys – WPA Pool/Getty Images)
WINDSOR, UNITED KINGDOM – MAY 19: Prince Harry and Meghan Markle stand together in St George’s Chapel at Windsor Castle for their wedding on May 19, 2018 in Windsor, England. (Photo by Dominic Lipinski – WPA Pool/Getty Images)

Bombshell #2: Meghan And Harry To Reveal Sex Of Their Second Child

SUNDAY MARCH 7 8.10PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 12.10PM AEDT: By the end of the interview today, Meghan – once she is joined by Harry – will reveal the gender of their unborn baby. Meghan has also just said she went into Royal life “naively”.

“I didn’t grow up watching the royal family,” she tell Oprah.

“I didn’t do any research. I’d never looked up my husband online – everything I needed to know, he was telling me.”

“I didn’t fully understand what the job was – what was needed of me. There was no way to understand what the day to day was.”

Meghan says Harry asked his girlfriend is she knew how to curtsey, before meeting the Queen. She says “the penny dropped” in that moment.

“I grew up in LA, you see celebrities all the time – this is not the same. It’s a completely different ball game,” says Meghan.

Bombshell #1: Oprah Asks Meghan About The Royals Decision Not To Make Archie A Prince.

SUNDAY MARCH 7 7.45PM EST/ MONDAY MARCH 8 11.45AM AEDT:  A juicy snippet has leaked prematurely on Twitter. And just wow.

How Will Buckingham Palace React To Meghan Markle and Prince Harry’s Interview With Oprah?

The Times is reporting that not only will Queen Elizabeth not watch the “circus” but that “angry” royal courtiers have already met to discuss the stripping of Meghan and Prince Harry’s titles. Warning they are ready to retaliate with fresh disclosures made to the Sandringham Agreement a year ago should the couple make unfavourable remarks toward the palace.

“The response will depend very much on if [Meghan and Prince Harry] go after the institution or the people,” another source told the outlet,” one royal source told the outlet  “If they go after the people, the people will come out swinging. The institution can take the blows, the people cannot.”

What is the update on Prince Philip’s condition?

Prince Philip is spending his 21st night in hospital following heart surgery on Wednesday March 3. As per a statement by Buckingham Palace, the 99-year-old – who will turn 100 in June – is recovering from a “successful procedure” to treat a pre-existing heart condition. He is now in King Edward VIII’s Hospital in London as the tell-all interview between his grandson and Winfrey goes to air.

According to royal expert Katie Nicholl, reports are surfacing that Prince Harry has been privately “asked to come home” to visit his ailing grandfather. Philip’s son Prince Charles is also said to be “deeply” worried about his father’s condition.

thoughts?